Seventh Show Playlist – 7th June 2011 –

1 The End Of The Ocean A Dividing Line Pacific Atlantic 4.12 Future Recordings USA 2010
2 sleepmakeswaves (hello) cloud mountain So We Destroyed Everything 3.21 Self Released Australia 2011
3 Killington Fall This City Is Covered In Water At The Soundless Dawn 5.57 Self Released England 2010
4 Emmalee Crane The Queens Of Carmen Formantine 3.32 Streetlight Farm USA 2010
5 Mainland Divide Moving Forward Mandated Apathy 4.21 Self Released USA 2010
6 Beware Of Safety Kaura It Is Curtains 5.19 Mylene Sheath USA 2007
7 Casino Versus Japan Maybebaby Night On Tape 4.09 Attack Nine USA 2010
8 Rumour Cubes Rain On Titan We Have Sound Houses Also 5.19 Self Released England 2010
9 Esmerine Sprouts La Lechuza 7.35 Constellation Canada 2011


Esmerine was co-founded ten years ago by percussionist Bruce Cawdron (Godpseed You! Black Emperor) and cellist Rebecca Foon (Thee Silver Mt. Zion, Mile-End Ladies’ String Auxiliary) soon after the two met while recording the first Set Fire To Flames record Signs Reign Rebuilder (2001) at the old brothel at 10 rue Ontario Est in Montreal.

Esmerine released two critically-acclaimed albums of modern chamber music, If Only a Sweet Surrender to the Nights to Come Be True (2003) and Aurora(2005) that have one foot in the new music/experimental terrain of contemporaries like Rachel’s or Town And Country and the other in the more visceral and lyrical landscape populated by the likes of Dirty Three (and GY!BE themselves).

While Beckie’s activity with Thee Silver Mt. Zion increased through the middle of the decade and Bruce deepened his study and practice as an acupuncturist, the duo continued stoking the fires of Esmerine, with occasional live performances and special events in Montreal over the past few years – often including invitations to guest musicians to collaborate with the group on one show or another.

While Esmerine had made deft but sparing use of guest players on previous records, their collaborations and performances over the past two years opened the band up to two new players in particular, who were invited to join as full members: harp-player Sarah Pagé (Lhasa de Sela, The Barr Brothers) and multi-instrumentalist Andrew Barr (Lhasa de Sela, The Slip, Land of Talk, The Barr Brothers). They were all introduced through their dear friend Lhasa de Sela while Lhasa was working on her third and final record in Montreal.

With this expanded line-up, Esmerine recorded a new album,La Lechuza, in 2010.

La Lechuza was predominantly tracked by Patrick Watson at his Montreal loft, and Watson sings on three of the album’s songs. Other musical guests include Sarah Neufeld (Arcade Fire), Colin Stetson, Mishka Stein and Robbie Kuster. Mark Lawson (Arcade Fire, Unicorns) mixed the bulk of the album’s tracks.

La Lechuza is dedicated to Lhasa de Sela, who died of breast cancer on New Year’s Day 2010 at the age of 37. The album closes with a previously unreleased version of the Lhasa song “Fish On Land” that was recorded with Bruce and Beckie in 2008 during the sessions for Lhasa’s self-titled third and final album.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: