Archive for March, 2013

One Hundred and Eleventh Show Playlist – 19th March 2013

1 Expo ’70 Figures In Black Turn Night Back Into Day Virtually From The Unknown 31.06 Self Released USA 2013
2 Andrew Weathers Ensemble O/OU What Happens When We Stop 7.07 Full Spectrum Records USA 2012
3 Pray For Sound 23:55 23:55 5.35 Self Released USA 2013
4 Tan Frio el Verano Nieble, barco, pajaros Primavera 9.53 Self Released Venezuela 2012
5 emmalee^crane Six Of Ravens Crowd Of Reeds 5.04 Streetlight farms USA 2013
6 Solkyri Hunter Are You My Brother? 4.48 Birds Robe Australia 2013
7 Zero Bedroom Apartment Parallels Filmmuzik 3 2.23 Yesh Music USA 2012
8 Zero Bedroom Apartment For Montreal Filmmuzik 3 2.16 Yesh Music USA 2013
9 Taylor Dupree Negative Snow Faint 9.43 12K Records USA 2013
10 Glorie Falling Falling 5.37 Self Released USA 2013
11 Glorie The Lotus Falling 4.57 Self Released USA 2013

Record Of The Week

Glorie – Falling


Falling is the second release from, Memphis TN based band, Glorie. Their first self titled release was a gem, and this new release is a step up from that. This EP is 5 tracks coming in at 23 minutes. This is an instantly endearing EP to listen to. The opening track, Sunshine Then Tears, starts off with amazing keys and has vibes in the background and it drives and drives and just has such an incredible melody. Everything is just great in this track They actually slow it all down at and keep that slower tempo going to the end of the song. Track number 2, Run Away, then kicks in and the Glorie sound continues. This track has a similar tempo to the first track and a similarly complex, uplifting sound with amazing melodies and musicianship. The tracks are not long, mostly around 4 minutes or so but they pack a lot into them. The tempo does change for track 3, Smoke, it si slow and moody, more darker than the previous two tracks. More string heavy on this track, it twists and winds its way through the song with those vibes intercepting at every opprotunity. The title track, Falling, starts off with a melee of sounds, in readiness for the main part of the song to kick in. And kick in it does, haunting piano melody, strings playing out the main melody. The last track, The Lotus, i think this has my favourite instrument interplay on it. This EP has 5 tracks, and that is 5 quality tracks.

Glorie have stepped it up a notch with this EP. Looks like they also have lots more to be offering in future years. This EP confirms that this band are going from strength to strength.

The band Glorie is:

Jason Paxton – Vibes, Keys
Jonathan Kirkscey – Cello, Guitar
Robert Brimhall – Bass
Jeff Hulett – Bass, Vibes
Andrew Saunders – Drums

Additional Help:

Jessie Munson – Violin
Long Long Kang – Violin
Beth Luscome – Viola

Instrumental,experimental band, Glorie, was formed in Memphis in the spring of 2009 by former Satyrs frontman, Jason Paxton.  The other members of Glorie (Jonathan Kirkscey, Rob Brimhall, Andy Saunders, and Jeff Hulett) come from diverse musical backgrounds and have performed with an impressive array of artists such as Cat Power, Jay Reatard, The Bloodthirsty Lovers, Snowglobe, the Memphis Symphony Orchestra, and Al Green.

The band started as a desire to create  substantive, engaging instrumental music with a strong focus on melody.  Their music blends acoustic, electric, and electronic sounds and draws inspiration from many genres including rock, classical, and instrumental hip- hop. Glorie follows up on their well received 2011 self-titled  debut with their new EP, Falling, showing off more of their classical influence with the string section taking on a prominent role. Driving rhythms and diverse instrumentation including lush strings, guitar, piano, electric piano, and vibraphone, Glorie creates a thick wall of sound with a cinematic quality.


Leave a comment

One Hundred and Tenth Show Playlist – 5th March 2013

1 Lowercase Noises The Windows Of You (I Sang A Quiet Song) Blake 10.50 Self Released USA 2013
2 Matt Burnett salon5looper Live at Salonotheque 12.19 Self Released USA 2012
3 Dreiskk The Tising Tide Edge_Horizon 8.59 N5MD USA 2013
4 Alpha Skies Get 2 It Mish-Mash EP 3.13 Self Released Scotland 2013
5 Grouper Difference The Man Who Died In His Boat 5.49 Kranky Records USA 2013
6 Haunter In Whispered Hallow Malcontent Perishing Road 7.04 Self Released USA 2013
7 Markus Mehr Duck Became Swan On 9.12 Hidden Shoal Germany 2012
8 Ormen Lange Geronimo Ormen Lange 8.53 Stayposi Records USA 2013
9 Ormen Lange Precious Blood Ormen Lange 6.01 Stayposi Records USA 2013

Record Of The Week

Ormen Lange


Chicago based Ormen Lange release their second album, Black, this time on Stayposi Records. This is the follow up to the self titled album which was released in 2011 (this first album is also very good). So what about Black, well it is 4 songs and comes in at just 30 minutes long. This is the first release as a four piece, Michael Thomas(guitar) was added to an already strong trio of Brett Rupp(drums), his brother Dane Rupp(guitar) and Kevin Richter(bass). Black definitely has a more polished sound, but you would expect that from a second release. The 4 tracks here are a nice mixture of the heavier side of post-rock and while there is quite a bit of music in that genre, there are not many bands who pull it off. Ormen Lange really do pull it off  and create a really great sound, you only have to listen to the first track, Black Horse, to appreciate how much work they have put into this. It is a nice mixture of heavy, quiet, psych and many more styles in there. The 2 guitars really work well together with the drums and bass keeping it all a bit sane and they pack in a lot in just under 9 minutes, and this is just the opener. Moving on to track two, ‘Precious Blood’, is a nice mixture of dark and moody and light and uplifting sounds. Its the shortest track on the album but its a packed 6 minutes of great sounds. They released a preview track from the album, 1V100, and that is the third track. It has more tempo than the previous two tracks, this track has a more rhythmic start but it really builds into a stellar track. The last track on the album ‘Geronimo’ is a really standout track with some neat guitar sounds, this would appear to have a bigger, more expansive sound with some neat guitar growls in the mix.
To summarize, I highly recommend this album if you like the heavier side of post-rock. It has lots of interesting moments and the production and mix is first class.
Ormen Lange was officially formed in 2009, playing shows ranging from sweaty college basements to intimate Chicago venues such as Martyrs’ and Schuba’s.With his animalistic approach, the percussionist Brett Rupp’s steady and solid drum beats constantly drive the band forward. On bass, Kevin Richter finds his niche combining elaborate tapping with intense low end distortion. Dane Rupp fills the vocal void of this instrumental band with his harmonious, yet psychedelic guitar.Despite their rising success, Ormen Lange was still searching for their own sound. They sought more, the answer, good friend Michael Thomas. His calculated rhythms and simplistic guitar melodies perfectly compliment Dane’s erratic improvisational style.The four members continue to express their own sound and energy by using their music as a medium and Ormen Lange as their temple.

Ormen Lange at its core is meant to be experienced live.

Leave a comment