Sixtysecond Show Playlist – 26th June 2012 –

1 Rachel’s A French Gallease Selenography 6.13 Quarterstick Records USA 1999
2 Remora Holding Her Tight The Heart That Kills 6.24 Fluttery records USA 2012
3 Gespenst Silver Lining The Bloodline 6.01 Fluttery records Malaysia 2012
4 Krzysztof Orluk Panaphonic Structure Of 5.41 ETA Label Poland 2012
5 Olafur Arnalds For Teda Two Songs For Dance 4.34 Erased Tapes Records Iceland 2012
6 Another Electronic Musician Amidst Five 5.14 N5MD USA 2008
7 Palm Family Untitled 9 5.6.2012 4.58 Somehow Ecstatic Greece 2012
8 This Patch Of Sky Newly Risen Newly Risen, How Brightly You Shine 6.22 Self Released USA 2012

Record Of The Week

This Patch Of Sky – Newly Risen, How Brightly You Shine

Eugene, Oregon based This Patch Of Sky have just released their second album, and it is quite a release. The album comprises 5 tracks at just over 30 minutes in length. Its well written, well played, well mixed and sounds excellent. There is not a bad track on this album, every track seems to have its own character, there is melody over melody, quiet and loud  all over the place on this release. This is post-rock, of that there is no doubt. But, this just isn’t any post-rock, its This Patch Of Sky post-rock and I think this is important. This album was also funded by a Kickstarter project, of which I pledged, so it was the fans who, in the end, actually made the recording of this album possible.

So sit back, relax and crank the dial to 11 and enjoy the awesome sounds of This Patch Of Sky.


This Patch of Sky is an instrumental/rock band from Oregon which was founded in the summer of 2010 by Kit Day, Nate Trowbridge, Joel Erickson, and Andrew Sandahl. What started out as a work of passion for the four guys had mutated into something bigger. As fans began popping up across the globe, the band realized that what they had to say had found an audience.

This Patch of Sky released their first EP, The Immortal, The Invisible, in February of 2011 and have since been playing shows throughout the West Coast. Later that year, the band joined forces with German post-rock label, Oxide Tones. After receiving overwhelming support from fans across the world, they decided it was time to record their sophomore album a little over a year later.

Newly Risen, How Brightly You Shine was recorded at Clarity Recording in Hillsboro, Oregon and consists of 5 songs, approximately 30 minutes in length. To fund this album, the band decided to launch a kickstarter asking for other people to donate money to help fund this project. After seeing an amazing amount of fans donate to this cause, the album was fully funded in less than 30 days.

The goal for this EP was to create music that reflected their hearts, to turn music into more than just music. They wanted to give people a sense of belonging, a hope, a connection. Newly Risen, How Brightly You Shine became available in June of 2012 as a free download on Bandcamp, NoiseTrade, and other various web sites to show how thankful they were to family, friends, and fans.

After recording their 2nd EP, guitarist Andrew Sandahl parted from the band to pursue new things in life. His role was filled by Austin Zentz in May of 2012 who gave a new sound to the band. Christopher King was also added to fill in on synth and piano. The band is eager to continue sharing their music and hearts with family, friends, and fans across the world.


  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: